top of page
  • Writer's pictureMK

Meal planner me is an overachieving bitch

Yeah you read that right. Every week I sit down to make a list of meals. I tell myself to keep it simple, now is not the time to be an overachiever. Then it seems that I give my reasonable self the middle finger and throw caution to the wind. Fast forward to Monday night and I’m cussing myself, wondering if I should just get takeout when the dreaded question of ‘ what’s for dinner” arises.

I love to cook and now that I have a functional dream kitchen, I want to use it. However, I’m busier than I have ever been. I’m dealing with some big transitions, and I know that there isn’t much left in the tank when dinner rolls around.

Of course I want to make my family a delicious meal and I would love to get the whole family in the kitchen helping out. Make the memories and teach them some life skills. But let‘s face it. Witching hour is no joke and when your juggling a million things, kids are hungry and tired, you just need to get dinner on the f‘ing table and pray that nobody says “I don’t like this”.

Pinterest and Instagram only encourage my behavior. ”oh I could totally make my own noodles, sauce and meatballs on Thursday.” Thursday rolls around and I’m hoping there are some boxes of penne pasta and a jar of sauce in the pantry. I don’t have any thing against making dinner easier so I have no idea why I do this to myself. Will I ever learn? Who knows. Maybe I’ll get my shit together and slowly be able to tackle the meal planning and time management. Start to love the process of cooking again instead of looking at it as another chore to cross off my list.


What are your meal planning tips, go to meals, or places that you struggle when it comes to the never ending question of “what’s for dinner?”.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page