top of page
  • Writer's pictureMK

Banana Nut (or no nut) Cake

My Grandma bakes this cake when she knows her grandkids are coming to visit. It has even turned “I don’t like banana bread” people into banana cake lovers.



I decided to try out some silicone molds that I had. Soft banana bread is not great for bringing out the details.


What you’ll need:

1 stick of butter

1/2 cup water

2 cups flour

2 cups of sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup nuts (optional) - I use pecans or walnuts

1 cup mashed banana (usually takes 2 mushy bananas to make a cup)



  1. Put butter and water in a small saucepan, bring to a boil.

  2. Put all other ingredients into a mixing bowl

  3. Add butter/water to the other ingredients

  4. Mix until combined

  5. Pour into pan. ( I’ve used a 9x9, bread loaf pan, cupcake pan)

  6. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page